In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

My Daily Prayers

Now THIS looks like a Guy who can get things done!

I say a prayer to Seth-Typhon every morning. I generally don’t have time to go to shrine (besides, that’s what the LV-426 Sabbath is for), but I do say this prayer while I’m making coffee, brushing my teeth, going to work, or waiting for the clock to strike 9:00 a.m. in my office (if I’m the only one there and I get there early enough). Ideally, the prayer is best recited at sunrise, but this isn’t always feasible. In any case, I think it’s a good idea to sit back for a moment each morning, to take stock of all the good things that are happening in my life, and to express gratitude for them. One of my biggest problems is that whenever something goes wrong, I latch on to that one thing and forget all about the good things that are happening, even if the good things outnumber the bad (which is usually the case). So I got myself into the habit of saying this prayer each morning to keep myself balanced and to prevent the forces of Uncreation from leaking into my soul.

Great Seth, almighty Red God of thunder and twofold strength! Homage to You, O blessed Son of Nut! O majestic Savior of Ra! O Powerful of Foreleg and Great of Strength!

I thank You, Lord, for the fact that I woke up this morning; that I am still alive and well; that my wife is also still alive and well; that we are still happily married; that we still live in our humble home; that I still have a job to help us keep our home; and that we are still surrounded by so many loving friends and family. Most of all, I thank You for being my God, for listening to my prayers, for delivering us all from the Backward Face, and for being the center of my world.

I pray for Your continued guidance and strength in facing my challenges this day. May I deal with the things that anger or upset me in a way that’s productive and that makes You proud. May I crush the Evil One with the Iron that comes forth from Your loins; may Your Iron straighten my spine and empower me to uphold Ma’at both within and without.

I believe in many Gods and Goddesses, but You are the most important Deity at the altar of my heart, and the mouth of Your image is forever opened in my mind. I will stand by You in this world and the next; I will offer You praises until the end of my days and beyond. All honor and praise upon You, most holy Lord Typhon. Amen.

I don’t always recite this prayer exactly the same way; sometimes I improvise, especially when I get to the third paragraph (and especially if there’s something I’m specifically worried about for the day). I also take a few moments to recite an alternate version of this prayer in the evenings, by way of giving thanks to Seth for seeing me through another day.

Great Seth, almighty Red God of thunder and twofold strength! Homage to You, O blessed Son of Nut! O majestic Savior of Ra! O Powerful of Foreleg and Great of Strength!

I thank You, Lord, for seeing me through yet another day upon this Earth, for hearing my morning prayer and for delivering me home safely to my loving wife and our humble home. I may not always be happy with the things that happen in my life, but I am grateful to You for all the various blessings You have bestowed upon me. I realize that You already know my heart, but I say aloud that I do not take Your blessings for granted, and that even when You place obstacles in my path, I am thankful to You for caring enough to teach me and make me stronger.

I pray for a good evening with my wife and for a good night’s flight through Duat when I sleep. May any qliphoth that threaten us be frightened away by Your deafening roar! May the Backward Face be too frightened to slither its way into our hearts and minds! And may the life that I share with my beloved be pleasing to You and Your lady friend, the ever-radiant Ishtar.

I believe in many Gods and Goddesses, but You are the most important Deity at the altar of my heart, and the mouth of Your image is forever opened in my mind. I will stand by You in this world and the next; I will offer You praises until the end of my days and beyond. All honor and praise upon You, most holy Lord Typhon. Amen.

Leave a Reply

