In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Godzilla Fever!

600full-godzilla-raids-again-gigantis-the-fire-monster-screenshot

Godzilla vs. Anguirus in Godzilla Raids Again (1955)

Today, Gareth Edward’s new remake of Godzilla has finally been released in theaters – and I’m so excited, it’s everything I can do not to piss myself! If there’s two things that have always been in my life, it’s (1) my parents and (2) Godzilla. So as you can probably imagine, this new opportunity to see what will hopefully be a good Godzilla film ON THE BIG SCREEN is totally bringing out my inner child. Unfortunately, I won’t actually have a chance to see this movie until next week, and I’m a little bummed about that. It’s going to take all of my willpower to resist reading anything about the film or listening to anyone else talk about it. When I finally do get to see it, I’ll post my thoughts about it here; but while I’m waiting, I thought it might be a good idea to remind people about my review of the original Godzilla from 1954.

If you’ve never seen the original Godzilla, I highly recommend watching it before you go and see the Edwards version. If that’s not an option, then I recommend reading my review about it first. (Here’s another link just in case.) In my opinion, everyone needs to go into the new movie with some idea of where Godzilla came from and what he’s always meant as a character. If this movie turns out to be a total train wreck, I at least want people to know that this wasn’t the case with the original flick by any means. And later this weekend, I plan to post an article that briefly mentions some of my favorite installments in the Godzilla franchise.

Also, I’d like to point out that this year marks the 60th anniversary of the original movie. Can you believe that? 60 years of Godzilla! What a perfect time to release a new update to this classic franchise. Here’s hoping everyone who goes to see the movie this weekend really enjoys it. And to quote the Blue Oyster Cult, “Oh, no! There goes Tokyo, a-go-go GODZILLA!”

Leave a Reply

