In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

A Sabbath Offering

Circumstances prevented me from inviting my Lord to lunch this week (except on Monday), so I promised Him that I’d make a special offering to Him on Friday night. I fixed some vegetarian hot dogs and some pasta salad (though I botched the pasta salad a little bit, not reading the directions correctly), and I offered Seth a plate full of both (along with a bottle of Leinenkugel’s Honey Weiss). Then my wife and I both sat down to dinner with Him and watched an episode of that old paranormal TV show from the 1990s, Sightings. Shortly after that, our good friend Patrick came over and we talked with him about everything from Stephen King to Civil War ghosts until 3 in the morning. All in all, it was a great night, and even though I messed up the pasta salad a little, I can tell that Seth really enjoyed His evening with us.

You’ll notice that Seth’s image is standing in front of an old Tampa Nugget cigar box. I found this at an estate sale in my neighborhood just last month; it was previously owned by a Korean War veteran, and I just loved the colors. I think it makes a great “house” for His image, and I think He likes it, too. (Also, I love the way His shadow rises from behind the statue when a candle is lit in front of it. It always makes me visualize His spirit being “behind” the image, and the effect is especially notable when the lights are all turned off. Dua Sutekh!)

Leave a Reply

