In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

August 2, 2014

My wife and I are still mourning our cat, Sneakers, but some comforting things have happened since her fateful passing on Tuesday. The next day, we went to Meijer and had some photos of Sneakers printed out. We’re planning to make an ancestor shrine for our house, and Sneakers will be included. A thunderstorm passed by while we were at the store, and as we were leaving, we caught a glance at this beautiful sight in the heavens:

At one point in the day, we were also visited by a friendly woodland critter. I’m not absolutely sure, but I think it’s a woodchuck.

My wife and I like to think that the Gods sent that woodchuck to make us feel a little better.

So last night was the Sabbath, but I’m afraid I really wasn’t up for doing much. I always feel guilty when I don’t get around to lighting a candle for Big Red, and I didn’t make any offerings to Him yesterday either. But He’s very understanding. This has been a pretty rough week, and all I really wanted to do was hang out with my wife and watch television. She got sleepy around midnight and went to bed, but I stayed up for a bit and watched The Hitcher (the original 1986 version, starring Rutger Hauer, which is next on my list of “Typhonian Films to Review”). Anyway, about halfway through the film I started seeing things out of the corner of my eye. At one point, I thought I saw Sneakers walk into the room. Not knowing if it was actually her ghost or if I was just seeing things, I erred on the side of caution and patted the couch, which was always my way of inviting the cat to sit with me. A little later, when my eyes were getting droopy and I was nodding off to sleep, I thought I saw Sneakers again, sitting over by the heating vent on the floor.

I’m not claiming to know for a fact that her ghost is here, but I surely hope so. That would be the greatest August present ever.

2 responses to “August 2, 2014

  1. Ita Shetani August 3, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    I’m sorry for your loss. It’s always hard when you lose a “child”. It’s interesting that you think you may have seen her. Some people believe that deceased pets can come back as familiars.

    Like

    • G. B. Marian August 4, 2014 at 4:15 pm

      Thank you, you’re very kind. Yes, I believe that too. We’re actually getting the cat’s ashes back this afternoon (it was a 3-day wait for the cremation), so it will be interesting to see if we will experience any further activity after bringing them into the house. (To be honest, I hope so.) We’re even planning to offer the cat some kitty food on holidays.

      Like

Leave a Reply

