In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Merry Wep Ronpet 2014!

As far as I can tell from looking at Distant Suns, the heliacal rising of Sirius started happening here in my area (i.e., Michigan) this morning. So Happy Wep Ronpet, everybody! I hope everyone who is, has been or will be celebrating it is doing well and having a good time.

I haven’t been posting every day for the holy month of August like I wanted to, but I like to think I have some good reasons. For one thing, I’ve actually been working on several posts all at once. (When I have an idea for a post, I usually write it, let it sit for a week or two, then come back to it and re-write it. I like to take my time with the really heavy ones, especially if they’re about things that make me emotional.) For another, I’ve been staring at computer screens so often lately that I just don’t feel like doing it anymore when I come home from work.

The posts on which I’m currently working might have to wait for a little while. I’m taking a vacation from work next week, and I’m thinking about using this opportunity to do something really special for my Wep Ronpet this year. I’m thinking about observing a “computer fast” and not turning my computer on at all next week. I’d like to spend as much time outdoors as possible and get back into the habit of reading books printed on paper and stuff like that. It’s going to be really hard because I’m so addicted to computers, but I really don’t like how my brain feels after I spend 8 hours on them at work every day. So I think it’s really important that I give this “computer fast” a try. If I actually commit to this decision, the fast will begin tomorrow evening during our LV-426 Sabbath, and it’ll last until the following Sabbath (i.e., Friday, August 15).

I’m going to try and get another post or two in before tomorrow night, but if I commit to this “computer fast” idea and run out of time, I’ll finish them the week after next. In any case, here’s hoping that something really good and joyous happens for everyone out there who walks with one or more of the Netjeru. May our various Deities bless us, may all of our Blessed Dead be with us, and may we each succeed in upholding Ma’at at this most sacred time of year.

Leave a Reply

