In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

My Wep Ronpet 2014: Back From Vacation

I’m proud of myself because I actually made good on my attempt to enforce a “computer fast” upon myself during my vacation last week. I didn’t turn on my computer or mess around on the Internet for a full 9 days. And do you know what? It felt great.

While I didn’t exactly swear off technology in general – my wife and I watched plenty of TV and used our car to drive up north and go camping – it felt good to unplug myself from cyberspace for a while. Instead of reading blogs, I read a couple of paperback books. Instead of writing on my blog, I wrote with a pen in a composition notebook. I even put away my headphones for most of the vacation and listened to the sounds of nature (rather than my normal diet of constant rock music, all day long). It worked wonders. Not only does my brain feel much better – considering how “fuzzy-minded” I was feeling just before my vacation began – but the entire week seemed to go by very slowly. I’m sorry it’s over, and I wish it didn’t have to end, but I can honestly look back and say that the week didn’t just fly right by (like I feared it would). No, time just seemed to slow down and I actually feel pretty well-rested and re-energized.

In honor of my personal Wep Ronpet on August 15, I spent the day lighting red candles for Seth – one after the other, from morning to night – and talking to Him off and on while watching episodes of Amazing Stories with Him. (Amazing Stories is a sci-fi/fantasy/horror anthology show that was produced by Steven Spielberg from 1985 to 1987, and I intend to write a review for it later on). This probably won’t make sense to most other people out there, but I always feel compelled to binge-watch this show with Seth each year on August 15. Re-runs of the show were airing back in 1997 when my walk with Big Red first began, and some of the occult-themed episodes (e.g., “Mummy Daddy” and “Go to the Head of the Class” in particular) really spoke to me on some deep, primal level at the time. So watching as many episodes as I can during Wep Ronpet is basically my way of re-living those first few months of my life as a Typhonian.

Amazing Stories (1985 – 1987) is my favorite thing to watch on Wep Ronpet

Also, now that Wep Ronpet is over and the Dog Days of Summer will soon be drawing to a close, I’m ready for autumn to begin. It’ll be time to start preparing the Halloween decorations soon, and that’s my favorite time of year (more than any other) right there.

All in all, it was a great week, and while it’s rough getting back into the grind, I thank Seth for helping me defeat my personal demons. All honor and praise upon You, Lord!

Leave a Reply

