In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

December 2014 Update

Some of you have probably noticed that I’ve been pretty scarce since Samhain. I have a really hard time concentrating on my writing each year in November and December. There are so many things that happen right after Halloween; my wedding anniversary, Thanksgiving, my birthday, Yule, Christmas, New Year’s…And things always heat up for me at work just before the winter break. (I work in academia, so I’m sure you can probably imagine what happens.) And then there’s December 19, the anniversary of Tony and Patrick’s ordinations in LV-426 (which is basically our excuse for celebrating a mid-winter festival). So whenever I do find time to sit down, all I really want to do is watch something really stupid on TV and drink something to pickle my giblets.

My wife and I have also adopted a new daughter. She’s a Tortoiseshell kitten, and she’s only 14 weeks old. We named her “Ripley” in honor of Ellen Ripley, the great Typhonian witch from Ridley Scott’s Alien. (I’m hoping to get a dog named MacReady and a turtle named Gamera to complete this new “Naming critters after famous monster-slayers in fiction” trend we’ve apparently started.) We’ve had little Ripley for almost a month now, and she’s truly made herself at home. It was rough at first because it felt like we were “betraying” Sneakers by getting a new cat somehow. But we honored the old girl during our Samhain celebration, and I think she would have liked Ripley just fine. I’ll say this much; adopting this new beasty has certainly brightened my wife’s spirits. (Ripley is so high maintenance though, which is another reason I’ve been so scarce as of late!)

Lil’ Ripley

I’ve been working on several new posts here and there, but I can’t guarantee that I’ll have any of them ready for public scrutiny until January. Things will have calmed down a great deal by then, and I’ll probably be able to focus much better. May Great Seth bless you all.

10 responses to “December 2014 Update

  1. blindasatruar December 10, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    No worries, have fun, and we’ll be here when you are able to post more!

    Like

  2. Cassie & Sophie December 10, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    Ripley looks adorable! I’m also an academic so I can sympathise with your busy time! I am so fed up with marking and making exams! BTW, I’m Cassie’s other half; she’s told me about you… She holds you in very high regard! Sophie

    Like

  3. Ekunyi December 10, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    Wishing you a wonderful winter season, and plenty of time to rest after you survive semester’s end. (With one masters degree under my belt, and another program about to begin in a few weeks, I can definitely empathize there!) Also, I thank you for sharing the beautiful picture of your new kidlet. I can definitely appreciate the kittens as children sentiment, and am glad to hear of another who shares it. :3

    Like

    • G. B. Marian December 23, 2014 at 9:32 am

      Finally the semester is over, and I can actually write again! I’m glad you can commiserate, too, and thank you for the kind words! It’s good to know someone you think the same way about cats. Little Ripley is slowly getting bigger, and now that she’s lived here almost two months, she’s pretty much taken control of our entire house! I hope you and your cats and all of your loved ones have a blessed winter holiday season.

      Like

  4. Ita Shetani December 10, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    She’s adorable. I love black cats. We had one named Zora that passed away. I said no more cats at that point and got a dog…black of course…lol. Enjoy winter the best you can.

    Like

  5. nikkie December 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    Freaken adorable! Congrats on the kitty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

