In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

A New Seth Statue

Just in time for my birthday this year (and by “this year,” I really mean December 13, 2014), I managed to land enough dough to finally buy myself a new statue of the Big Enchilada. Up to this point, I’ve had two; a large one and a small one. Unfortunately, the large one got knocked over a year ago and His ears broke off. (As you can probably imagine, I was very upset by this; however, I didn’t throw the statue out. It’s still in my closet because it seemed blasphemous to just throw it in the trash.) Anyway, we went to a Pagan/New Age store in our area called Earth Lore and I bought myself the big honkin’ statue you see below. Here you go:

Big Seth and Little Seth!

I’ve decided to post these pictures in honor of a big event that’s happening this week called “Red Week.” This event was orchestrated by Ekunyi of Ekunyi’s Embers, and it’s basically a 7-day festival for Big Red. If you’re interested in reading more details about Red Week, please have a look at Ekunyi’s post on the subject. Happy Red Week everyone, and may Great Seth bless you all!

“Now remember, kid; things are never so bad they can’t be made worse.”

5 responses to “A New Seth Statue

  1. kallistaqbhwt January 14, 2015 at 8:36 am

    It’s a very beautiful statue. May I ask what material it is made from? Is it clay?

    Like

  2. katakhanas January 28, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    What a beautiful statue: Hail, Suti!

    Dr. Emily Teeter is an Egyptologist at the University of Chicago and she recently gave a talk on the everyday religious life of the ancient Egyptians. Clergy and laity all assumed statues of deities were made alive upon their completion–that the ba of the god or goddess in question would immediately host itself in the piece, as the artist’s act of completing the statue signaled an invitation for that deity’s ba to descend–and much of daily temple life centered around purifying, clothing, and feeding the statue as a living embodiment of the god. When statues fell into disrepair or during periods of foreign invasion, the Egyptians took to burying their statues. Even though the ba of each god/dess was said to have already departed, the vessel that formerly held the ba was still held with respect. The thought of having them burned in urban dumpsters would have been totally abhorrent to the Egyptian mindset, Dr. Teeter explained, so burial was the decent thing to do. I’m going to keep this in mind the next time I have a broken statue to deal with that’s beyond repair. Cheers!

    Like

    • G. B. Marian January 29, 2015 at 9:40 am

      Hey, thanks a lot for posting this! I would have loved to sit in on that lecture, for sure. I’ve always wondered what the Egyptians might have done with sacred images that got broken, and I find it comforting to learn that there’s a proper way of doing it. Once spring arrives and Walpurgisnacht is around the corner, I will be sure to bury my broken Seth statue (along with His ears). I’ll give it a proper funeral and everything in our backyard.

      Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian January 29, 2015 at 9:45 am

      Thank you for posting this! That’s a wonderful idea; it didn’t even occur to me. When spring arrives and Walpurgisnacht is around the corner, I just might go ahead and bury my old Seth statue (along with His ears) in my back yard. I’ll give it a proper funeral and everything! And I would have loved to attend Dr. Teeter’s lecture for sure! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

