In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

The Providence of Seth

Great Seth Is Mighty!

I’m still working to catch up on some topics from the Kemetic Round Table. Here is the next question I’ve decided to tackle:

What parts of Kemeticism do you enjoy the most? How has Kemeticism enriched your life?

Since I’m not exactly a Kemetic (for reasons that I have explained here, here and here), I will be responding to this question as if it were asking, “What parts of your walk with Seth do you enjoy the most? How has your walk with Seth enriched your life?”

I guess the most important thing that I enjoy about my personal relationship with Seth is the fact that it even exists. I’m honored that the Big Guy would deem me worthy enough of His time to actually introduce Himself to me all those years ago; to arrange for things to happen in my childhood that would lead me to embrace Him; to help me fight my battles each and every day; to visit me in the hospital while I was near death and needed emergency surgery in 2003; and to give me two of the best spirit brothers I could ever ask for. And to think that He’s done all this for me even when I probably deserved far less, when He would have been completely justified in kicking my ass right out of this world. I love the fact that there’s this God out there whom everyone else seems to think is a scary Halloween monster, but who’s actually a misunderstood hero, and who doesn’t even give a shit that He’s misunderstood. And to have such a Deity love me and help me through some of the most terrible things that have ever happened to me in my life…Well, there just aren’t enough words in the English language for me to explain what that feels like.

Another thing I love about my faith is that it’s largely responsible for leading me to meet most of the people I love and consider “family” today. Aside from my birth family and my spirit brother Tony (whom I would have met in high school regardless of what I did), worshiping Seth led me to meet my wife, my spirit brother Patrick, my spirit cousin Tina, her fiancé Goose, our friends Helen and Joe, their daughter Robin, all of my in-laws, and various other friends (hi, Kara!). I met all of these people through my wife, and I first met my wife on an online discussion forum for Pagans. I joined that website all those years ago because I was looking for a place where I might find other like-minded Seth enthusiasts. So if I had never prayed to Big Red in the first place, I would never have met any of these people and I wouldn’t have the wonderful support network that I now enjoy. (Lady Ishtar deserves a lot of credit for this as well, since She was my wife’s reason for joining the aforementioned website.) So for me, walking with Typhon is literally the glue that keeps my entire world together. Some folks may think it’s strange that such an “antisocial” God would help me to develop such a strong social circle, but that just happens to be the way it is.

Being one of Big Red’s priests has also enriched my life from an academic viewpoint. Mind you, I never finished college and I don’t have any degrees to my name (yet). I’m not exactly proud of this, but I’m not ashamed of it either. Yet I know how to read academic textbooks, and I know how to read, write, cite, and proofread academic papers. This isn’t just because I work in an academic environment, either; already knowing how to do these things was what landed me the job in the first place. How did I learn to do these things? Because when I first met Seth back in 1997, I didn’t really know all that much about Him. I realized that if I wanted to know just who this God was, I was going to have to do a truckload of homework. So the library became my temple, and I started making pilgrimages there everyday. I found every top-notch Egyptological resource I could find and devoured them all. I also made a habit of recording every source I ever found in an extensive bibliography (part of which you can find here). Well long story short, you might say the Big Guy forced me to become an amateur “scholar” of sorts. I’m not claiming to know everything there is to know, and I’m sure a trained professional Egyptologist could probably kick my ass. But when I don’t know something, I have the tools to teach myself about it very quickly.

So these are just a few of the ways in which knowing Great Sutekh has had a huge positive impact on my life. I know that some people out there are really intimidated by Him, but I hope that this post will serve as a testimony to His inherent goodness.

Leave a Reply

