In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

My Lamassu

I don’t claim to be a great artist or anything like that, but earlier this week, I decided to do something about ISIL/DAESH smashing sacred images from ancient Mesopotamia. Some of you might recall in my post, Lamenting Nimrud, Hatra and Other Holy Places, that I mentioned an idea about creating new images of lamassu and other sacred beings from Mesopotamian religion. Well one day while I was coming home from work, I felt an overwhelming desire to buy me a sketchbook and some coloring pencils and draw me a proper lamassu. He didn’t turn out quite the way I imagined, and I had to fix him up a little in Photoshop; but I like him just fine, and I’ve decided to name him Larry. World, meet Larry the Lamassu; Larry, meet the world.

Larry The Lamassu (Click to Enlarge)

I’d like to encourage everyone out there to either draw Larry some brothers (or perhaps even some sisters!) to accompany him as he smears the astral body of DAESH all over the Duat like a rotten tomato. Or, if you can’t draw very well, please feel free to reblog this and give Larry a home on your own website. Heck, if you want, you can even put him on a T-shirt and sell it. I don’t care if I get a percentage or even any credit; as far as I’m concerned, Larry here is his own person and he can go and strike business deals with whomever he pleases. Just as long as Larry and his kind get plenty of support in these trying times; that’s all I really care about.

Also, here’s a little poem I’ve written for Larry:

Wounded soldier,
Guarding your king;
You kept to your post
When your people took wing.

For so many centuries,
You would not be subdued;
The Enemy kept trying,
But could never intrude.

Now Nimrud and Hatra
Are gone from this Earth;
Leveled by foes
With no honor or worth.

Valiant soldier,
Loyal and true;
How sad and unjust
That none guarded you.

4 responses to “My Lamassu

  1. Rev. Dragon's Eye April 4, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    Whoa!

    Ya did very well for someone who claims to not be much of an artist. I used to do color-pencil drawings years back. That right there looked very good!

    – Rev. Dragon’s Eye

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ubenmaat April 6, 2015 at 11:29 am

    I love the poem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

