In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

David Bowie: The Man Who Sold The World (1970)

I’ve been in a David Bowie mood lately, and I just wanted to remind people that this exists. Also, I haven’t had time to work on a new post lately due to work; but since no one seems to have read this review, I thought I’d send it out again. Enjoy!

In The Desert Of Seth

The cover art for David Bowie’s The Man Who Sold The World

David Bowie is a musical “renaissance man” who’s dabbled in a bit of everything, including ambient, folk rock, glam rock, goth rock, industrial, jazz, soul, and yes, even heavy metal. (Keep in mind what I said in the post wherein I offered my general definition of heavy metal: not everyone who does a metal album is necessarily a metal musician for life.) As far as metal is concerned, I’m talking about 1970’s The Man Who Sold The World, which sounds almost as if Black Sabbath temporarily fired Ozzy Osbourne as their vocalist and hired David Bowie to take his place. It’s a truly unique entry in Bowie’s canon; he’s never created another album quite like it since this one (and he probably never will).

David Robert Jones was born in Brixton, England on January 8, 1947…

View original post 3,146 more words

Leave a Reply

