In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

A Family Execration

This weekend was the most magnificent weekend I’ve had in a good long while. I got to go home an hour early from work on Friday (due to not being able to take a lunch one day earlier in the week), and I managed to mow our entire lawn in one fell swoop (which is not an easy task, considering that we have a rather steep hill in our back yard). Then my wife’s cousin Tina came over and we feasted on pizza while watching the Cinema Snob analyze 1980s televangelist videos about “occultic influences” in Saturday morning cartoons. Tina spent the weekend with us, not only for her initiation ceremony on Saturday night but also to work out some of her wedding plans with my wife (who is her maid of honor).

There was much to do on Saturday prior to Tina’s initiation. You see, my mother-in-law (of all people) requested a while back that I perform an execration of Apophis for her. She’s currently fighting cancer and is extremely weak from all the chemotherapy, so she figured that she needed to get rid of as much negative energy as she possibly could (and while she generally prefers Christian methods for this, she decided that asking Seth for some extra help couldn’t hurt). I don’t remember how the subject first came up, but at one point I told her about the ancient Egyptian tradition of smashing pots to drive away Apophis, and she really liked the idea and wanted to try it out. As it turns out, my wife, Patrick, Tina, my sister-in-law, my stepfather-in-law and a close family friend all wanted to participate too, and since it’s hard getting all of these people together in the same place at the same time, we ended up doing it on the same day as Tina’s initiation.

This was originally a very stressful idea, for I wasn’t entirely sure that I, Patrick or Tina would have enough energy for an execration and an initiation all in one day. But we managed to make it work, and I’m very glad that we did. Everyone showed up at our house around 5:00 PM on Saturday, and each person was given a small ceramic pot and a black Sharpie marker. I instructed everyone to write and/or draw whatever they liked on their pots, but whatever they wrote or drew had to represent negative things that were bothering them and that they wanted to cast out from their lives. Once everyone had done this to their own satisfaction, I implored them not to touch anyone else’s pot (or to let anyone else touch their own). By creating these pots, we were essentially forcing our inner demons into these things and creating the magical equivalent of bio-hazardous waste products, so it was very important that no one should be “infected” by anyone else’s bad juju. Then we all went out into the back yard, where Patrick and I had prepared a small altar to Seth-Typhon (complete with His statue and a big red lantern). We had also set up a couple of garden tiles on which the pots could be smashed.

My own execration pot (“Don’t touch!”)

Now I should mention here that the family friend who attended this execration also brought her 2-year-old daughter with her, and that she had dressed her little girl in a red dress (without even thinking about it). At the same time, my wife and I had bought our “niece” a toy pig that makes an oinking sound whenever it’s squeezed, and she was playing with this toy while we began the execration ceremony. As I recited the standard LV-426 invocation to Seth, our niece mysteriously approached the altar and stared at Big Red’s statue. We were briefly worried that we’d need to prevent her from picking up the statue or playing with the lantern, but she didn’t do either of these things; she just stood there, gazing at the Red Lord quietly and respectfully. Then, once I had finished the invocation, she placed her toy pig right beside Seth’s statue and said, “That better” – as if Big Red had directly asked her to put the pig there. As the little girl walked back to her mother, everyone who was present felt a powerful chill.

Seth was indeed with us.

Then I recited a shorter adaptation of our litany for the Destruction of the Evil Worm, which went like this:

Torment be upon you, Apophis, you enemy of Seth, of men, and of all the Gods! The wind and thunder of Typhon prevails over the accursed shell and nothingness of Apophis, and the fury of the Weapon of Seth shall gnaw into that enemy of Ra; and the fury of the Weapon of Seth shall consume all the enemies of the Mighty God!

Taste your death, Apophis! Get back and retreat, O enemy of Seth! Fall down, be repulsed, get back and retreat! For it is Seth Himself who commands you, it is Seth Himself who drives you back, and it is Seth Himself who cuts you into pieces!

Seth prevails over Apophis! Taste your death, Apophis! (x 14)

Back, fiend, an end to you! Seth has driven thunder and lightning and tempest at you, and Seth has made you to be destroyed, and Seth has condemned you to evil! An end, an end to you! Taste your death! An end to you! By the power of seven and seven, you shall never rise again!

Once I finished this curse, we all took a deep breath…and then we chucked our pots onto the garden tiles as forcefully as we could, all at the same time.

I don’t think anyone was expecting this to be as shocking – or cathartic – as it turned out to be. For one thing, the sound of the pots smashing was a lot louder than we expected; the cracking of the terra cotta seemed to echo throughout the entire neighborhood like thunder. For another, we weren’t expecting the pot shards to fly all over the place with quite as much force as they did. I suppose I should have planned this part of the ritual out a little better; I’ve never done this with an entire group of people before, and it probably would have been better to throw the pots from farther away. No one was hurt, however, and though we were all a bit shaken by the sight and the sound of this event for just a moment, there was also a very clear and powerful sense of release. I hadn’t even considered the possibility that our niece might be frightened and start to cry when the pots were all smashed, and that was the first thought that occurred to me when we heard the thunderous crack upon the garden tiles. Luckily, our niece was only startled for a brief moment; she didn’t cry or become frightened at all. (My wife picked her up before we smashed the pots, so she was well out of harm’s way.)

The most cathartic execration I’ve seen in a long, long time

I closed the ceremony, telling everyone that the mighty Weapon of Seth had now cut through the bandages that were fettering the mouths of their spirits, and that they were all freed from the coils of the Evil One. Then Patrick and I swept up the debris and placed it in a paper bag while the others went back inside. As if on cue, it began to rain; in fact, it had been downpouring like an apocalyptic flood just before everyone arrived at the house, and now that we were done, it started up again. It was as if Typhon had purposely timed the storm that way just so we could complete our ritual as a family. I intend to bury the shards of our pots this Sabbath, but we decided to let them sit outside in the rain so Big Red could piss on Apophis‘ broken corpse for a while.

This execration was mostly performed for my mother-in-law’s benefit, and to be sure, she seemed to feel much better as a result of it. She told my wife today that she feels 100% better about her life. She knows she still has cancer, and that still really sucks the big one; but she seems to feel a greater peace about it now. Everyone else felt a huge change as well; even my stepfather-in-law – who’s about as skeptical as they come – says he felt something powerful with us during this procedure. My wife, Tina and our family friend each told me that they felt choked up while I was cursing Apophis. Just decorating their pots with their inner demons had been trying, but casting those qliphothic vessels to the ground and hearing them CRACK like that made them feel a lot better. As for me, I’d been in a bad mood earlier that same day; but after the procedure, even I felt right as rain again. I always feel better after magically smiting isfet, but this was even more powerful and more liberating than usual.

(I guess that’s what happens when you can actually get 8 people to focus on a single magical goal at the very same time!)

The rest of the weekend was very relaxed and enjoyable; in fact, I don’t think I’ve felt this relaxed in a very long time. Even today, on Monday (the worst day of the week), I’ve been in a pretty damn good mood (and that’s pretty damn rare). I only wish Tony could have been up here to get a little taste of the magic we all shared during this execration. (Being that he’s in Texas, it’s even harder getting him here at the same time as everyone else!)

And as it turned out, Patrick, Tina and I each had just the right amount of energy for our second ritual later that evening. But Tina’s initiation deserves a separate discussion of its own; suffice it to say for now that it went extremely well.

Seth-Typhon be praised.

5 responses to “A Family Execration

  1. journeyintoinsanity June 1, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    Oh wow, what your niece did… is precious! Kids amaze me sometimes. Even my own has left me flabbergasted and wondering if she’s in tune with the Gods and not realizing it.

    I’m so happy to hear that all went well and everyone is feeling awesome after the ritual! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian June 3, 2015 at 6:04 am

      Thank you! I still can’t get over my niece doing that. No one’s ever talked with her about Seth and how pigs are one of His sacred critters, either, so something was definitely happening at that moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rev. Dragon's Eye June 3, 2015 at 3:33 pm

    I really liked that!

    Catharsis Rituals always seemed to have that effect for me too. This was one of the main reasons I started the Dark Moon Rituals in a group I was formerly a member of. I saw there a need for Catharsis. By all rights, I should have been able to continue these Dark-of-Moon Rituals in the way I was doing them. The very first one was in working with Leviathan. THAT was a very powerful experience for many of us in attendence then.

    So happy to hear that all worked out for you and your guests and family. I may be interested in your LV-426 tradition one of these days. I am always looking for new material, and for new ideas in which to incorporate into my own “ever-evolving” tradition.

    – Praise to Sutekh,

    and

    – Hail Tiamat!

    – Rev. Dragon’s Eye

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian June 10, 2015 at 6:33 am

      Well, I guess you could say that there are two levels of LV-426: the private level (which is just for us) and the public level. I’m oathbound not to discuss the private stuff, of course, but everything that is discussed on this website (our holidays, the rituals I’ve posted, etc.) is free for anyone else to use or adapt as they please. If you see something you like, by all means please feel free to adapt it for your own purposes. But just as a standard disclaimer, all we ask is that (1) no LV-426 stuff be twisted for any kind of nefarious purpose, and that (2) people acknowledge us as an influence, but without actually claiming to represent or be affiliated with us. 🙂

      Like

  3. Nan April 28, 2016 at 8:50 pm

    I feel so honored to be invited to participate in the rituals this weekend. Thank you so much for sharing this post and the Walpurgisnacht post! Plus, being able to meditate on your recitation beforehand will make the pot-smashing even more meaningful to me. I have a few large-sized demons that need to be directed to the exit door!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

