In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Our Personal Valentine’s Day

From right to left: “Beauty and the Beast”

Today is the sixth anniversary of the day that my wife and I first met face-to-face. We knew each other online for about 6 months prior to that, but today’s the day we first met. I explain the events leading up to our first meeting in my review of Gary Numan’s Warriors (1983), which was my personal soundtrack for that period. I also explain in my article Ishtar (Part 2) why my wife and I both believe that our marriage was essentially “arranged” by Seth-Typhon and Ishtar. If it hadn’t been for both of Them, neither of us would even be aware that the other exists. They united us from across a great distance, and while nobody’s marriage is absolutely perfect, I think ours is pretty dang close.

As an adolescent, I thought I’d never get married; I certainly never thought I’d get to marry a Pagan woman. (Nor did I ever think I’d marry a polytheistic Pagan woman who’s partial to Mesopotamian and Mediterranean Deities, who digs classic horror movies, and who’s also a redhead. Our Father, who art behind the Big Dipper!) I guess all my failed attempts at wooing my various love interests in high school and college were really a blessing in disguise. In any case, here’s giving thanks for six long years of domestic happiness, and here’s hoping for countless more.

4 responses to “Our Personal Valentine’s Day

  1. Linda Rae June 19, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    Cheers to you and your wife! How incredibly sweet, you remember the day you met! Me and my sweet often reminisce all of the details about the day we met, but neither remembers the exact date. We do have it written down funny enough, on a form somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Envy June 20, 2015 at 12:17 pm

    Congratulations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

