In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Contra Transphobia

Lately, a TERF (Trans-Exclusionary Radical Feminist) has been cyberstalking transgender Pagans (or Pagans who say anything in support of transgender Pagans) on their blogs. You know, it was only a few short months ago that I first learned about the TERFs. As a matter of fact, I learned about it on a pro-TERF Pagan blog. The person running this thing was constantly posting all kinds of stuff about how transsexual women really aren’t women at all, but are evil male rapists dressing in women’s clothes so they can break into women’s public restrooms and rape cisgender women and take away all their rights. I won’t mention who this person was, and I won’t link to that blog; I don’t care to get myself involved in any flame wars today, and I unfollowed the damn thing anyway. But allow me to just say that seeing that filth posted on a Pagan website really upset me.

I have some very strong opinions on this whole subject of TERFs, but I’m not going to share most of them. I wouldn’t feel comfortable doing that, because I’m a heterosexual cisgender dude and I don’t think it’s my place to say what should or shouldn’t be done about women’s public restrooms. However, I will say that I worship a God who’s attracted to Goddesses who can kick His ass, who supports abortion, who’s also attracted to some male Deities, who’s been known to eat semen, and who even had His genitals removed at one point. (They were given back to Him later.) Now I’m no great Pagan leader, and I certainly wouldn’t want to be, so I don’t speak for all Pagans everywhere. But as a Pagan who walks with a non-heteronormative male Deity who is both feminist and LGBTQ, I find the whole TERF thing disgusting. I think you people are rotten.

I might also mention that my next door neighbor is a transgender dude, and I implicitly accept him as such. (When he transitioned, I welcomed him to the male world with a box full of briefs, some KISS albums, and a couple issues of Penthouse. He at least kept the briefs.) I don’t always know what I think about sex or gender, and I start to get all goofy and confused if I think about it for too long. But dammit, if you tell me you want me to use certain pronouns (and not certain others) when I refer to you in everyday discussion, then by Gods, that’s what I’ll do. If I did anything less, I wouldn’t be worthy of the Red Lord Seth-Typhon Almighty (praise be upon Him).

It’s great that marriage equality has finally been achieved in this great nation of ours; but let’s not forget that there are still other battles to be won. If you ask me (and I realize that nobody did), I think it’s our duty as Pagans to do whatever we can to make all our transgender friends and family feel loved, accepted and safe in this world. I don’t know what all we can do to accomplish that goal, but I suppose the best way to start is by listening to what transgender folks have to say.

14 responses to “Contra Transphobia

  1. Nornoriel Lokason June 27, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    *applause* Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. journeyintoinsanity June 27, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    Reblogged this on journeyintoinsanity and commented:
    Much yes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ossia Sylva June 27, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    I had no idea what a TERF was, or even about the existence of TERFs, until after Nono added that he was going to go to the police about this person. Holy crap. And to be honest, I still can’t wrap my head around the idea of a “pro-TERF pagan blog.” What. How? I don’t know. People are cray, and I’m not saying that in a funny way. There is so much hatred, and a complete absence of trying, even a little bit, to understand and to respect.

    PS – love this post. And hail Seth-Typhon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ossia Sylva June 28, 2015 at 6:56 pm

      Absolutely agreed! And I think the gods, too, don’t like for us to be silent for too long. 😛 I am pleased to see that this is a community effort (both with the community of Deities as well as the polytheist community) and we’re only getting closer to bringing that equality to existence.

      Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian June 28, 2015 at 7:13 pm

      I can’t believe it either. I was deeply offended by the blog when I first noticed it, but I didn’t say anything about it at first because I was just so flabbergasted. I’ve also been in a lot of flame wars in the past – more than I remember, I’m sure – and I’m not exactly in a hurry to relive those past experiences. However, now that a TERF is actually attacking trans Pagans on their own websites, it seemed like now’s the time to start speaking out about it.

      Thank you for liking this post – and indeed, hail Seth-Typhon! May He and every other Deity help us to achieve equality for trans people everywhere.

      Like

  4. We Bring The Fire June 27, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    Reblogged this on We Bring The Fire.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laine DeLaney June 27, 2015 at 7:28 pm

    Thank you so much for this, darling. It brought a tear or two to my eyes and warmth to my heart. Having been associated with Isis for a long time I’ve been nervous about Set, but if He inspires this sort of sentiment in His people I hope that I get to praise offer to Him with you and your kin some day. All the feels, all the feels.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. caelesti June 27, 2015 at 8:49 pm

    I found about about the term TERF on feminist/social justice blogs, but knew about some of the ideology behind it from women’s studies classes in college. Unfortunately if you google “feminism and paganism” you’ll find a lot of TERF crap in the name of “the Goddess”. Methinks they need to research ancient goddess cults, then they’d find out about fun stuff like the eunuch cross-dressing priests of Kybele! I’ve not run into that sort of thing locally though- around the Twin Cities Pagan communities we have enough queer & trans *elders* that anyone who has a problem with it either a) keeps their mouth shut b) is told to take a hike!
    Also- wow, I did not know all that about Set (though I suppose some of it may depend on which myths you read/which interpretations etc. knowing how deep the pyramid-hole of Kemetic religion can go!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian June 28, 2015 at 7:54 pm

      AMEN on your point concerning the priests of Kybele! Or what about the Hijras in India, who appear to have existed at least since the Kama Sutra was written? Many indigenous cultures have been known to have third (and sometimes even fourth) genders, even to the present day. It astounds me that these people can be so blind to this (not to mention that transgender people are statistically less prone to violence than, say, heterosexual cisgender men – which I first learned from reading The Silence of the Lambs, if you can believe it).

      Thankfully, I’ve never encountered this TERF business in person either. Somehow, I reckon that pretty much none of the Pagans in my area would tolerate it. I certainly hope not, anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jen June 27, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    Good words. In my community, change happens at a snail’s pace- the conservative right hold a majority of the power, & it’s very short-sighted.

    As a hetero Pagan who fully supports the LGBT community, I have always taken the stand that as long as it “Harms None”, it’s all good. I am also an ordained minister through the ULC since 2007, & have offered my services to the LGBT community to officiate at weddings.

    The judges in my county have stated that they will stop performing civil unions all together, so they don’t have to deal with the gay community weddings, so it seems only fitting that I stand up and try to help.

    Everyone deserves equality. That’s what this country was supposedly founded on, and by all the Gods and Goddesses, I will seek to uphold that as well as I am able.

    P.S. I had never herd the term TERF till reading your post, and hope I never have to come across that filth in my Internet travels.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian June 29, 2015 at 6:11 am

      Props to you for stepping up to the plate when your county judges won’t! We don’t have that particular issue in my area, but I’m sure it’s happening in other places I’ve lived. (I’d sure hate to be a county clerk in Texas right now.) You’re absolutely right; everyone does deserve equality. We’re getting there, slowly but surely; we just have to keep going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

