In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Can people please stop saying there was no Devil figure in Hellenism?

I too get frustrated whenever I hear someone say that there is no concept of “evil” in polytheist religions. There most certainly is.

3 responses to “Can people please stop saying there was no Devil figure in Hellenism?

  1. caelesti July 30, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    By the way, not sure if it matters but this guy isn’t actually a Hellenic polytheist. He’s a Christian who finds the ancient religion interesting to study but looks down his nose at actual revivalists. He still may be sharing perfectly valid information, but I thought that was worth clarifying. https://musingsonhellenism.wordpress.com/2015/07/15/my-opinion-on-hellenic-reconstructionism/

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian July 30, 2015 at 3:48 pm

      I appreciate you providing this clarification. He definitely is rather harsh toward modern polytheists, and he really ought to check himself before going on about “persecution.” I was not aware of this post you have linked before reblogging the one above. I’d hate to remove it, because the post I reblogged makes an excellent point and is relevant to much of what I discuss here. I will need to think about it, and am open to feedback.

      Thanks again.

      Like

      • caelesti July 30, 2015 at 4:21 pm

        Oh I think if he’s sharing accurate information it’s perfectly fine to link to him, especially since he’s not actively hostile, just a bit snooty. Lots of professional scholars look down on us, but if disapproval stopped us from practicing our religions, they would not have been revived.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

