In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

The Mighty Hot Dog of Set

This is an image I created way back in 2008, when LV-426 was still just me, the Tonester and Seth. Back in those days, we hadn’t quite landed on “LV-426 Tradition” as the official public name for our faith, and we were still humorously calling ourselves “the Zombies of Set.” (This was due to us both having trouble going to bed at decent hours and staying up until 5:00, 6:00, or sometimes even 7:00 AM every day. As a result, we acted like zombies during the daytime because we were so goddamn sleep deprived, we were probably legally dead. Or at least that’s what I remember, anyway.)

2008 was the first year of my decade in Texas that I would describe as anything better than “bad.” (Funny that it would also be my last full year in that place.) I was still living in a questionable situation, but at least I was alive again in Seth-Typhon, and some pretty big changes were right around the corner. But just before that all started, Hurricane Gustav hit the Gulf of Mexico during the week of Sunday, August 31. At the place where I was living, we opened our home to a bunch of people from New Orleans who had evacuated the city just before Gustav hit. The memory of Hurricane Katrina was still fresh on everyone’s minds, so when Gustav became a Category 4 that summer, it was a no brainer; everyone had to get the hell out of New Orleans (and Galveston, Texas for that matter), and anyone who had room in their home needed to let someone else use it for a week. It was actually a pretty awesome experience to bond with these complete strangers in the midst of such a terrible force of nature, and it made me feel pretty tight with Big Red; maybe someday I’ll write some more about that week.

I also discovered Alice Cooper’s Easy Action (1970), his second studio album (and the last album he ever allowed Frank Zappa to produce). I became insanely obsessed with this humble little opus during that time, and I spent many an afternoon sitting in a tree out in the front yard with my boom box, blastin’ the Coop for everyone in the neighborhood to hear. Hey, it was hurricane season and everybody was just glad to be alive, you know what I mean? I didn’t give two shits about any “noise ordinance.”

That’s me sitting in a tree in ’08, blastin’ the Coop.

Speaking of “shits”…At some point that week, I ate a real bad hot dog; I mean, this sucker was mean. I’m not going to tell you what happened after I ate it, but I’ll say this much: people became concerned. And that’s what inspired this humorous little diddy.

Remember: “You Are What You Eat!”

11 responses to “The Mighty Hot Dog of Set

  1. Setken (@WingedPhysique) August 4, 2015 at 7:15 pm

    Easy Action and Pretties For You both became extremely hard to get as Alice Cooper became a worldwide sensation – I owned both on vinyl once upon a time, but recall having to work hard to track them down and finally finding someone to import them into Australia for me (it was pre-Amazon days!). I do believe there was some record company contract issue with them.

    Speaking of Zappa, interestingly I have been reading up on him and that era in the last week as I learned that one of my favorite singers who started her career with Zappa released a solo album last year that I did not know about!

    It is Dale Bozzio of course and since the discovery I have gone back to researching where the other band members from Missing Persons are (all whom got their first break with Zappa) and discovered the wonderful art that Terry Bozzio is now making. I think you would like his work entitled “Giger”.

    Happy Wen Ronpet btw.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian August 6, 2015 at 8:07 pm

      I couldn’t get my grubby mits on the first two Coop records until Rhino finally re-released ’em on CD in the 2000s. Boy was I in for a surprise! It took a bit longer for me to warm up to “Pretties” – though “Fields of Regret” is easily my favorite track – but with “Easy Action,” it was love at first sight. (Or love at first reverberation…or something.)

      Huh, I didn’t know anout the Zappa/Bozzio connection either. Go figure! Now I want to listen to some Missing Persons. BTW, I checked out Terry Bozzio’s “Giger” and you were right on the money. I really dig it!

      Happy Wep Ronpet to you as well! May your New Year be full of good tunes, amazing art and plenty of isfet-smiting fun! 🙂

      Like

  2. Leeby Geeby August 5, 2015 at 8:36 am

    Funny post dude. Gotta love Cooper. And Zapper two of my all time heroes. When I was a teenager I used to listen to Alice Cooper and one of my dad’s friends who was forty something heard me playing the album and he’s like: “shit, that guy was old when I was a kid.” I got a little pissed about that, because rockers never seem to grow old to me especially when they can still rock out on stage. But now I’m older, I look back and laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian August 6, 2015 at 7:57 pm

      To paraphrase an old cliche, great rock and roll is like a fine wine! It gets even better with age! 🙂 I saw a Coop show back in 2011, and he looked and sounded exactly as he did in 1971. (Well, maybe that was just because me and my brother Patrick were way in the back…but hell, give me old stuff any day, man!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Leeby Geeby August 8, 2015 at 9:20 pm

        I would love to see Coop. I’m also a huge fan of Iggy Pop. He’s another one still kicking arse and taking names. People hang shit on old rockers who still get up there and do their thing, saying they should just give it up. But it’s because people are jealous! If I could have even half the mojo of some these old rock guys when I get to that age, I would be a very happy man indeed.

        Like

  3. sepultura13 August 5, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    LOL – great post! That hot dog must have been seriously cursed or something, ROFL

    I’m a fan of Zappa and Alice Cooper as well…in Phoenix, AZ, Alice has a big-ass sports bar named “Alice Cooperstown,” and it’s awesome as hell! I had the “Rob Zombie” burger…
    😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian August 6, 2015 at 7:52 pm

      I’ve always wanted to go to Cooperstown, but I’m too scared to set foot in Arizona because I’m scared to death of tarantulas! Maybe some day I won’t care anymore. But I must admit, eating something called a “Rob Zombie” doesn’t sound too great; have you seen that guy? Looks like he hasn’t showered since 1992! 🙂

      Like

  4. katakhanas August 5, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    *squints at art file to make sure it’s a CHICAGO-style hot dog, anything else is a paltry shade of a weiner* 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

