In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Danny Elfman: Mummy Daddy


I haven’t been posting as many Typhonian Instrumentals lately, so I’m trying to make up for that now. And for this week, I have the perfect cut. This is one of my favorite pieces by Danny Elfman, Tim Burton’s perpetual film composer sidekick (and former lead singer of the New Wave/Ska/Post-Punk band, Oingo Boingo). This is the entire 15 minute soundtrack to an episode of Steven Spielberg’s Amazing Stories, an anthology sci-fi/fantasy/horror show from the mid-1980s. Amazing Stories is one of my top 10 favorite shows of all time – I remember watching it as a kid – and this is from my very favorite episode, “Mummy Daddy” (in which a horror movie actor playing a resurrected mummy gets into all kinds of crazy nonsense while trying to get to the hospital to see his pregnant wife). I figure this one is perfect for Wep Ronpet, which works for me since I always get a hankering to watch this show at this time of year. If you’re looking for something good on Netflix that you’ve probably never seen before, give Amazing Stories a try.


3 responses to “Danny Elfman: Mummy Daddy

  1. Loki's Little Hippie Witch August 5, 2015 at 8:18 am

    Oh wow, I remember watching that show!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

