In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

My Wep Ronpet “Computer Fast” Begins Tonight

Well today is my last day of work for this week; I’m taking tomorrow and Friday off for Wep Ronpet, which we’ll be celebrating here in LV-426 this Saturday.

Last year for this festival, I went on a “computer fast”; I unplugged myself from the internet and did all my writing in a notebook for the duration thereof. It was really difficult at first – I went through some withdrawal, which made me realize just how addicted I really am to staring at computer screens and poking around on the internet all the time – but by the end of that weekend, it was actually really hard for me to get back into cyberspace for a while. I will be going on a computer fast this year as well, beginning tonight. I’ll even go so far as to shut off the internet on my smartphone. I expect I’ll have trouble again at first, but I also expect I won’t want to sit at a computer again come Monday morning.

Anyhoo, I’ve set it up so that this blog will automatically post some updates I’ve prepared for this weekend (e.g., this week’s Sabbath Song, a brief holiday message, etc.). So while you’ll see some posts from me over the next couple of days, I won’t actually be here posting them manually; think of them as being something like “pre-recorded messages.”

Merry Wep Ronpet, everyone! May the Gods bless you all.

7 responses to “My Wep Ronpet “Computer Fast” Begins Tonight

  1. satanicviews August 12, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Good luck, a good learning experience to be able to switch off from technology.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ekunyi August 12, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    Di Wep Ronfret Nofret! A thousand of every good thing to you and your siblings of your tradition.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sepultura13 August 12, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    Enjoy unplugging and disconnecting – blessings to you and yours!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

