In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Autumn Equinox 2015

So yesterday, my morning prayer to Big Red was focused on asking for strength in dealing with the dark things that lie ahead for me and my family. My mother-in-law had to be hospitalized a couple of weeks ago, and we were all pretty worried that she wouldn’t make it. Thankfully, she’s recovered enough to return home (though with hospice care). So there is great anxiety among my family right now, on account of the feeling that my Ma-In-Law might not make it to see another Yuletide. I especially worry about the toll this is currently having on my wife (as well as the toll it will continue to take when all’s said and done).

And then there’s the fact that I’m just not ready for it to get darker and colder yet. I love Samhain, I look forward to it all year round, and I can’t wait to go on vacation for our wedding anniversary. But this summer flew right by, and the quicker autumn comes, the quicker it will go. Then it’ll be winter again, and let me tell you: winter really sucks around here.

Anyway, my bus arrived shortly after I finished my prayer, and I took one of the window seats. All the windows on the bus were extremely foggy (including the windshield), and you could see people’s fingerprints all over them. At some point, the person who’d previously been sitting in my seat must have pressed their hand against my window, perhaps while they were rising to leave. Somehow, the mark this left on the window was shaped almost perfectly like Seth’s sacred sha animal. It had the long rectangular ears and the curved snout; all it was missing was the tail and the legs. (Come to think of it, it actually resembled a more bird-like version of the sha animal.) I couldn’t take a photo of it, but I stared at it the entire time I was on the bus so I could later draw it from memory.

This is what I saw on the bus window.

I know how the human brain likes to form familiar images out of random parts (as with cloud gazing), but this sight was a little too well-timed (not to mention too oddly-shaped) for me to easily dismiss it as such. There are times when coincidences happen and I know good and well that what I’m observing is just a coincidence; but this was not one of those times. I took it as an omen from Big Red, a message that yes, there are indeed dark times ahead. But the Starry Bull of Ombos is with us, and just as His Thigh goes round the center of heaven each day, so will we come round to laughter and enjoying life again.

One way or another, my family will prevail.

Happy Autumn Equinox.

4 responses to “Autumn Equinox 2015

  1. Loki's Little Hippie Witch September 24, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    He was letting you that He’s got your six. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Varian Rose September 24, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    Happy Equinox!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cat S'ashasenu September 28, 2015 at 9:58 am

    I am so sorry to hear your Mother-in-law is not well! I hope she continues to improve. What a wonderful ‘sign’ from Set! Happy Autumn!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

