In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Samhain

Originally posted on September 30, 2014.

In The Desert Of Seth

This post was submitted for the Pagan Blog Project on Tuesday, September 30, 2014.

While I worship an Egyptian God and a Babylonian Goddess, my all-time favorite holiday is a Celtic festival: Samhain (“SOW-wynn,” Gaelic for “End of Summer”), which is the origin of the modern holiday, Halloween. This might create a bit of cognitive dissonance for some people, but despite my Welsh and Irish ancestry, I’ve never felt an emotional connection with any Cymric or Gaelic Deities. And despite my preference for North African and Mesopotamian Deities, the only holy times from those regions that I feel compelled to observe are Wep Ronpet and the Sabbath. These are both very important times for me, but Samhain is something else again. Wep Ronpet and the Sabbath are both tied to my faith in Seth-Typhon, but Samhain’s more of an ancestral thing for me; it’s not necessarily about any Deities…

View original post 1,350 more words

Leave a Reply

