In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Walpurgisnacht 2016

Not everything went according to plan, but this Walpurgisnacht was the best one I’ve had since 2005. Sister Tina drove in on Friday and we spent the evening eating junk food and watching shitty movies. Then I woke up early on Saturday to finish cleaning our house; it accumulated quite a bit of clutter over the winter, and while there’s still plenty more cleaning to do, we at least got the place looking presentable before our family and other guests arrived in the afternoon. It’s just as well anyway, since spring cleaning is an important part of what this festival is all about. I made sure to dust off both of our major shrines (i.e., our shrine to Seth and Ishtar in the living room, and our ancestor shrine in the kitchen). Then I lit some red candles and placed a statue of Seth in each room.

Some of the family members we invited weren’t able to come, and it started raining in the mid-afternoon. This prevented us from having a proper Walpurgisnacht fire in our backyard, but we went right ahead with the pot-smashing ceremony anyway. The first time we conducted this ritual together as an entire family was last May, when my mother-in-law specifically requested it. (We all knew the cancer was claiming her by that point, and she wanted some help letting go of all the fear and anger she was holding on to, so that she could spend her last months with us in as much peace as possible.) So before we began the ceremony this year, we said a special invocation to Pam, “a good Christian woman who wasn’t afraid to ask Big Red for a little extra help.” Then I recited our LV-426 prayers of exorcism against Apophis, and we smashed the pots containing our isfet out in the pouring rain. It was much chillier than I think it should be on Walpurgisnacht, but getting soaked in the rain was kind of like being baptized by the storm, so it was actually pretty appropriate for a Sethian rite.

What was left of our execration pots the next day (after I swept them up)

Then my wife lit some sage and went to every door and window of our house, welcoming all good spirits and warning any troublesome ones that our home is protected by the fire of Ishtar and the iron of Seth. After that, we all ate some grub, drank some booze and scared any lingering qliphoth away with a family viewing of Tommy Wiseau’s The Room (a 2004 movie that’s so horrifically bad, it’ll make your brains leak right out of your ears!).

I’d like to mention that for this year’s Walpurgisnacht ceremony, we used a very special image of Seth. This one was sent to me by my good friend Ekunyi back in the fall, not too long after my mother-in-law passed away. Ekunyi had ordered the statue a while back, but it arrived broken in pieces within its box. Being a good priestess of Big Red (by my reckoning at least), Ekunyi took it upon herself to fix the statue, glueing it back together and re-painting it good as new. Then she waited a while to figure out what to do with it, and when she heard about my wife’s mother, she sent the statue to my wife and I as a surprise gift. Let me tell you, when we first opened that box, we couldn’t even tell that this image had ever been broken; it looked good as new! I’d never ever know the story behind this image had it not been for the thoughtful card Ekunyi included in the box. This was an extremely touching gift, and it makes me weepy just thinking about it. So when the time came for us to have our next pot-smashing ceremony, I felt it was very important to have this particular image of Seth with us for the procedure. This Walpurgisnacht wouldn’t have happened without you, Ekunyi, and I just wanted to make sure you knew that. We are very grateful!

The holy image of Seth that Ekunyi very lovingly healed and sent to us as a gift

The next day, we all went down to Ohio to have lunch with Tina’s husband and mother, as well as her niece, my sister-in-law and my stepfather-in-law. This was in observation of a tradition that Tina’s mom and my wife’s mom started together when they were youngsters. After guzzling down more food, we passed around some family photos for a while (and I must say, my wife was quite the hottie in high school!). We parted ways after that, and then my wife and I roamed around an antiques store for a while before going home. (I found a cute little pot with a neat Egyptian motif on it, as well as a Conan comic book about “The Eye of Set” and several vintage Halloween cards from the 1930s.)

The whole “Evil Serpent God” thing really gets on my nerves, but I just couldn’t resist!

Just one of the 12 or so Halloween cards that I found

I should also mention that it was only upon reading some of the blogs I follow yesterday that I realized this Walpurgisnacht marked the 50th anniversary of when Anton LaVey started the Church of Satan. Some folks might think it’s weird for me to bring that up, but as I’ve explained before, we here in LV-426 consider LaVey to be part of our heritage in a weird sort of way (despite the fact that we aren’t Satanists). Even though he didn’t have any idea he was doing it, LaVey sort of “accidentally” helped bring a lot of people to Seth (including Michael Aquino, the founder of the Temple of Set, and Zeena Schreck, LaVey’s own youngest daughter). I don’t agree with everything the man ever said, and I certainly don’t care much for what the Church of Satan is today; but I nevertheless tip my hat to the Abominable Dr. LaVey and wish him good tidings out there on the Other Side.

Anton LaVey with his wife Diane and their pet lion, Togare (sometime in the 1960s)

All in all, it was a great Walpurgisnacht, and I feel very optimistic about entering this summer without any of the demons that haunted us over the winter. Great Seth be praised!

4 responses to “Walpurgisnacht 2016

  1. Ekunyi May 5, 2016 at 10:30 am

    So I read through this last night and got a bit teary-eyed myself, but wanted to make sure I came back today to write something after I hunted down whoever was cutting onions in the other room. 😉

    I’m *so* glad you had a wonderful Walpurgisnacht, and that you were able to celebrate it with your sister in the faith. I’m also very honored that you chose to use that particular icon for your rites, and that He continues to bring support to you and your wife.

    Dua Set! Hail Ishtar! May the Red Lord and the Lady of Battles continue to bless and protect the family of LV-426!

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian May 7, 2016 at 11:47 am

      Thank you again, Ekunyi; words can’t express how grateful we are to you for your genuine concern and support. Big Red sure chose well when He picked you for one of His own!

      Dua Sutekh! Dua Bast! May He Before Whom the Sky Shakes and the Goddess of Truth keep your home and your family happy and resilient against all misfortune!

      Like

  2. Ekunyi May 5, 2016 at 10:33 am

    (Also, that Conan cover is freaking amazing. I’ve recently been talking with another daughter of Set who adores the Barbarian and similar hack-and-slash stories. Also heavy metal. And bad horror movies. Definitely seeing a trend here… *wry grin*)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

