In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

It’s “Horned,” Not “Inverted”

What I think of as a “horned pentagram”

As far as I’m concerned, a pentagram is a pentagram no matter what direction it’s pointing. Is there such a thing as an “inverted triangle” or an “inverted trapezoid”? No, and I don’t think pentagrams can be “inverted” either. I just happen to like the ones with two points thrusting into the sky the best. This is because they resemble horned animals, and while it’s easy to imagine a goat’s head inside the lines, you can just as easily imagine an antelope, a deer, or even an oryx. I’ve always liked that, because each of those animals are artiodactyls (i.e., mammals with cloven hooves), which makes them sacred to Seth-Typhon. So for this reason, I prefer to call this symbol the horned pentagram, while I think of its opposite as a standing pentagram. And while most other Pagans seem to prefer the latter, I much prefer the former; in fact, a pentagram just doesn’t look “right” to me unless it’s horned.

2 responses to “It’s “Horned,” Not “Inverted”

  1. Lunae Iraes June 29, 2016 at 1:30 pm

    Interesting, I never thought of it as a horned pentagram. But true, there is no normal or invernted pentagram and I just think the ‘horned one’ is more aesthetically pleasing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian June 30, 2016 at 6:10 am

      Me too. This came up because I just went to Michigan Pagan Fest last weekend (a post about it is forthcoming), and it was bothering me that there were only standing pentagrams all over the place! Of course, I understand the reason; most people think the horned version is “negative” or whatever. But alas, it was kind of driving me nuts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

