In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

“Just A Polytheist”

I don’t know who originally created this image (comments are welcome), but I believe each of the Gods in this image is real…even though I only worship one of Them.

Some have said that polytheism is and must always be devotional, but I disagree. A polytheist must believe in many Gods, but there are many different ways that he or she can relate to Them. Just because I’m aware that a person exists doesn’t mean I actually know that person, and just because I know someone doesn’t mean that I love them or consider them family. It works the same way with Gods. I believe that Asherah, the Morrigan and Vishnu all exist, but I don’t interact with any of Them personally. I don’t keep shrines for Them, I don’t pray to Them, and I don’t make any offerings to Them. I respect Them, but I wouldn’t say that I “love” Them – and to really worship Someone, I think you need to love Them. So while I do consider myself a devotional polytheist, I’m really only devotional when it comes to Father Seth and Mother Ishtar. When it comes to most other Divinities, I’m “just a polytheist.”

6 responses to ““Just A Polytheist”

  1. SapphireYagami July 3, 2016 at 12:48 pm

    I never thought about that film that way but now that I think back on it, it does make sense. Did you see the tv series Damien? it got canceled after 1 season but I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian July 5, 2016 at 5:48 pm

      First, I think you meant to put this under my Final Conflict review, right? As soon as I figure out how to move it, I’ll move it over there. Second, I haven’t seen the Damien TV series yet; I’ve been hesitant because I love the original trilogy so much. What do you think of it? Should I give it a try?

      Like

      • SapphireYagami July 5, 2016 at 6:27 pm

        yes i meant to put it under your final conflict review. Second, I truly love the tv series and how human that Bradley James plays Damien Thorn. I’m working on a video review for it.

        Like

  2. Louise Pare-Lobinske July 12, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    I don’t know who made the image, but I recognize Buddy Christ from the movie “Dogma.” If you’ve never seen Dogma, it’s basically a satirical take on Catholicism, which makes this choice of image an interesting one. I don’t know if that was your intention…?

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian July 12, 2016 at 6:38 pm

      I was really just looking for an image that featured Jesus as well as a few other Gods, without having to make one myself. I have seen Dogma, so I knew the Buddy Christ came from that. (Also, I’m pretty sure the image of Thor is from a Marvel comic book.) I’m not really sure who combined these images together, though. But the reason I decided to use it is because I was frankly surprised the creator chose to include Seth in there (rather than a more “standard” Netjer, if you will). So I felt so just had to use it.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. simonjkyte April 21, 2017 at 6:19 pm

    I was interested but don’t have a tv – so no idea

    Like

Leave a Reply

