In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Glossary

Backward Face: A term that I use for true evil;  it can never be completely destroyed, but it can always be defeated somehow. See The Backward Face.

Execration: The use of magic to ward off evil and misfortune.

Friday the 13th: A date that we celebrate as a holiday in my family; a celebration of Seth’s part in making the resurrection of Osiris possible.

Horned Pentacle: A five-pointed star in a circle that’s drawn with two of its points facing upward.

Ishtar: Goddess of love, both as a positive and a negative force; Queen of Heaven and the Mother Goddess of my family’s pantheon. See Ishtar (Part 1).

LV-426 Tradition: My unique Pagan and Typhonian tradition, which is also practiced by three other people in my family.

Ma’at: Truth, order, balance and justice all together; the principles that make life as good as it can be, and for as many beings as possible.

Magic: Using ritual drama to create desired changes in objective reality, one or more subjective realities, or both.

Osiris: God of resurrection, identified with vegetation and agriculture; established Ma’at in the afterlife.

Paganism: A variety of Western spiritualities that hold nature to be sacred somehow, and that usually involve magic based on mythology and/or folklore.

Qliphoth: Negative spiritual forces that harm the living.

Ra: Creator God, the stardust of which all life is made; identified with gender-neutral pronouns (e.g., “Ze,” “Hir”) on this website.

Sabbath: A weekly night of prayer and worship that is usually observed in my tradition on Friday nights.

Samhain (“SOW-wynn”): A Celtic festival of the dead that later became Halloween; the most important religious festival in my family, celebrated from October 31 to November 2. See Samhain.

Set / Seth-Typhon / Sutekh: Storm God, creator of change and slayer of monsters; my Eternal Source and the God who is most sacred to me. See The Great God Seth.

Setheus: The spiritual domain of Seth, situated “behind the Big Dipper.”

Sha: An unidentified creature with rectangular ears, a curved snout, and a long forked tail; the most holy animal and symbol of Seth. See Seth’s Sacred Critters.

Typhonianism: A catch-all term for any spirituality in which Seth-Typhon plays a central role; my tradition is just one example. See Typhonianism.

Walpurgisnacht: April 30, the “Halloween” of springtime; a time for execrating demons and celebrating the fertility of the earth. See Walpurgisnacht.

Wep Ronpet: “Opening of the Year”; the Egyptian New Year Festival, which I celebrate on August 15. See Wep Ronpet.

5 responses to “Glossary

  1. Leeby Geeby November 28, 2015 at 12:49 am

    Cool, all in the one spot for future reference. Many thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 28, 2015 at 9:00 pm

      You’re welcome, and thank you for all of your comments! I will be adding to this glossary as necessary and as time permits.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Leeby Geeby November 28, 2015 at 10:21 pm

        Your welcome. Your stuff has really struck a chord with me. After recently experiencing a period of deep initiatory crisis, I remerged with a sense of having Alchemically taken things up a notch. Prior to the crisis, I had what I would term as a preparatory vision during a meditation which showed a procession of the figures from the Tarot descending into a secret chamber at the base of a pyramid, with particular attention drawn to the magician character holding his double-ended wand aloft for both drawing down and lifting up. I felt that it was urging me to engage more systematically and to more squarely to define the terms of my engagement with the spirit world in relation to my Western spiritual roots. It felt very natural to find your very practical set of insights laid out before me in the blogroll. They have been very helpful. Many thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

      • G. B. Marian November 30, 2015 at 6:02 am

        I’m very glad to have someone find my work so helpful. You’re very welcome, and thank you for reading. I hope this new stage of your initiation process proves to be quite fruitful for you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Leeby Geeby November 30, 2015 at 8:53 am

        Twas perfect timing. Just what I needed. I have had so many deep psychic visions related to Egyptian spirituality that it makes a lot of sense to add these ideas. Thank you for your support!

        Like

Leave a Reply

