In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Remembering Saint Pamela Jean

 

“Go with Jesus…Go with Jesus to His heaven. And may Seth keep you safe as you go, ridding all monsters and evil things from your path. We welcome you to the ranks of our blessed dead, Pamela; go and be well. Homage to our blessed dead; amen.”

These are the words I said at 2:25 PM EST on October 14, 2015, when my mother-in-law joined our ancestors. My wife, her aunt, and a close family friend begged me to say a prayer right as Pamela was giving up the ghost. I had no time to prepare; I just said the first things that came to mind.

And I trembled.

I had never seen another human being pass away before.

May the cherished memories of our ancestors keep all of us warm on these cold, dark autumn nights. May we all have the happiest Halloween we can possibly have.

Gods bless you all.

24 responses to “Remembering Saint Pamela Jean

  1. ibgreenie3 October 15, 2015 at 3:18 am

    The mystery of being in the presence when a loved one or family member passed over into the afterlife is profound. When I was in nursing the aged, I was present with many who passed as I prayed with them, or just held their hand.
    May your experience deepen your beliefs. Your ancestors will be present to you as the veil thins. May their presence give you comfort & support.
    Blessings of the desert,
    Reverend Donna M. Swindells
    Fellowship of Isis

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 8, 2015 at 12:29 pm

      Thank you, Reverend Donna; I am very grateful for your kind and thoughtful words. You’re right; witnessing this transition is truly profound, and it’s definitely strengthened my sense of purpose. Thank you again, and may you and your family be blessed as well.

      Like

  2. Linda Boeckhout October 15, 2015 at 6:25 am

    I am sorry for your loss and wish you and your family all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. katakhanas October 15, 2015 at 8:00 am

    May she journey well to the halls of her ancestors! Seeing a loved one die before your very eyes is a life-altering experience; it leaves an indelible imprint on the soul. Keeping you and your family in my prayers–may you find strength and comfort amidst the pain. ((hugs))

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 8, 2015 at 11:49 am

      ((Hugs back)) Thank you so much for these words of good heka. You are right; seeing this happen has definitely changed me somehow. I’m still working out what this change means and what I’m supposed to do about it, and I’m not looking forward to having the holidays without Pam. But I’m confident, at least, that the change in me is a good one, that it will help me learn how to help others even better, and that my family and I will get through to January okay. Besides, we have the single most frightening Being in the universe on our side, so why then should we fear? I am extremely thankful that you exist, and I pray for nothing but happiness for you and your bodeacious beau. Thank you again for your love and support in this darkest of times.

      Like

  4. Ita Hekima October 15, 2015 at 10:55 am

    I was present when my mom passed away. It was hard but at the same time I was glad I was with her. I’m sorry for your loss. Our Ancestors will always be with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 8, 2015 at 11:43 am

      You are absolutely correct, Ita. I am sorry for your mother’s passing as well. I hope that wherever she may be and whatever she may be doing right now, she is very happy. Thank you very much for your thoughtful words; may you be blessed with good fortune this holiday season.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Catriona McDonald October 15, 2015 at 4:19 pm

    So sorry for your loss. You mentioned you knew this was coming, and I’m glad you were able to be there at the end for her and the rest of your family. Be well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 8, 2015 at 11:39 am

      Thank you, Catriona; I’m very grateful for your kind words. Yes, as far as deaths go, at least we had time to prepare for this one, to say our goodbyes and things like that. I wish these things didn’t have to happen at all, but at least Pam didn’t die alone, and at least she isn’t in pain any longer. I have to tell you, reading these comments and receiving such warmth from yourself and the other good people listed here has really helped me in this time of grief. Thank you again, and may you be blessed with a most commendable harvest this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. trellia October 15, 2015 at 5:05 pm

    I am sorry for your loss. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Setjataset October 15, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    Deepest sympathies for your loss

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Linda Rae October 15, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    Beautiful prayer. I am sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sepultura13 October 17, 2015 at 11:14 am

    Hugs to you and yours – my condolences on your loss. A beautiful prayer, indeed…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ekunyi October 19, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    You, your wife, and your extended family are all in my thoughts at this difficult time. May Set lend you strength in the days ahead, may He shield you from the world for a time and give you space to grieve. May your loved one’s journey to the afterlife be smooth. May she always have a thousand of every good thing and live with the speaking of her name.

    Please take care of yourselves and each other as best you can in the days to come. You will be in my prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 8, 2015 at 11:16 am

      Thank you so much for this beautiful prayer. We continue to grieve, and while I hope for the best in going forward, the true test will be getting through the rest of the holiday season. However, I’m confident that we will get through it. We are blessed to enjoy so much love, not only from each other and our family but also from Big Red and lovely Shemsu Seth like yourself. I feel blessed to know you and to count you as my friend; thank you so much again for being so concerned for us. And thank Seth and Bast Almighty for the fact that you were born and that you continue to walk this Earth. I do not know if you would agree with this as a Kemetic practitioner, but from my perspective at least, you are truly an accomplished priestess.

      Like

Leave a Reply

