In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Shrine to Seth-Typhon

shrine4a

“We call upon the dreaded Sovereign of the sky,

Mighty TYPHON, from behind the Bull’s Thigh;

You who make the thundering winds to cry,

You who make the trembling earth to sigh,

You who make OSORONNOPHRIS to die.

Look upon us with Your fathomless eyes,

And greet us as Your friends and allies.

IO TYPHON ABERAMENTHO

IO TYPHON ABLANATHANALBA

IO PYTHON OPHION PAKERBETH

SHEMHEMFORASH!

IAO SETH TYPHONEUS!”

— Traditional LV-426 Invocation to Seth-Typhon

Welcome to my virtual shrine to Seth. (Click on the image to enlarge it.) I’ve created it for the benefit of anyone who wishes to worship Him with a shrine of some sort, but who isn’t able to have a shrine of their own for whatever reason (whether it’s because they live with people who wouldn’t understand, they’re traveling across country, they can’t afford a shrine of their own, etc.). This way, you can simply jump to this page on any computer, tablet or smartphone and “go to shrine” wherever you might be and whenever you might want to do so.

You’ve probably noticed that this isn’t what you’d call a “traditional” Egyptian shrine (and if you haven’t, then allow me to clarify that Black Sabbath and Alien posters aren’t normally included). This is an example of how we decorate our shrines in the LV-426 Tradition (except that ours tend to be a tad bit more cluttered). I realize this isn’t everybody’s cup of tea, so I don’t expect everyone to like it. But everyone is free to visit this shrine and to share their thoughts here if they like.

Please feel free to leave any prayers or symbolic offerings (i.e., images, videos, etc.) you might wish to share in the comments box below, and may He Before Whom the Sky Shakes bestow His celestial iron upon you. (Note: Anything offensive will be removed.)

Note: If you have any trouble posting images in a comment here at the shrine, bear in mind that the comments are HTML-enabled. If you don’t know HTML, no problem; just post the URL of the image and I’ll fix it up for you.

10 responses to “Shrine to Seth-Typhon

  1. G. B. Marian October 23, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    A plate full of lettuce with some tomatoes and some Green Goddess salad dressing for Big Red!

    Like

  2. Aleph October 23, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    Where did you get the idea for the overall arrangement of the shrine? Is it just something basic or is it derived from a specific source?

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian October 23, 2016 at 6:23 pm

      There is no specific source, save that I first learned about using red candles from reading Don Webb’s Seven Faces of Darkness. The arrangement itself is pretty basic, though if this were a physical altar, I would prefer to have it against a wall facing north (so the altar would be facing the real Big Dipper). As for the posters, the Black Sabbath and Alien posters are arranged completely on a whim. But the Big Dipper image is in the middle to indicate “true north,” and I arranged it to have the “hoof” of the Bull’s Thigh “stepping” on the planet to indicate Set’s dominance over the earth. You might also notice that while the image of Set is facing to our right, He’s facing to His left. And that’s pretty much it. Heck, in our philosophy, you can just draw a picture of Set on a piece of notebook paper (preferably in red ink, if available) and Scotch tape it to a wall (again, facing north if possible) and you’re good. (That’s what I had to do when I was in college!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Setken October 23, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    I am trying to upload one of my paintings to offer at the shrine but this is the best I can get . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian October 24, 2016 at 5:46 am

      Thank you! That is a wonderful painting! I managed to fix your comment up for you using some HTML coding, and I included a link to the original image on your website so people can see it enlarged.

      Judging by the name of this work – “Spiritual Insomnia (My Restless Ka)” – I’m guessing you painted this fairly late at night? It’s absolutely brilliant! Thank you again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Setken October 24, 2016 at 6:49 am

        Thanks G.B. The insomnia relates to the urgent desire I had to capture this statue by photograph when I visited Cairo Museum late last year, and then to get home and paint it using new techniques I learned at Icon School. (I did stay up late completing this work too – it had an urgency about being produced)

        One of my principle reasons for visiting Egypt in Dec 15 / Jan 16 was because of the photography amnesty at the museum. I took MANY photos but this was my prize. It is to date the only painting that I have produced as a result of that trip. There are more to come.

        You worked GOOD html magic here my friend!

        Like

  4. G. B. Marian November 1, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    Thank You, Lord Set, for blessing my family and I with a lovely Halloween get-together last night. Thank You for the fact that Emily and Brother Patrick were both able to come over, that we were able to afford such a bountiful feast, and that we all had a great time. Thank You for the fact that I was able to keep the candles for our ancestor shrine lit until about 5:30 in the morning. Now it’s time for my wife and I to celebrate our anniversary together. Here’s looking forward to a lovely day tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bothersome weirdo called Mj December 27, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    Thank you very much for making this shrine, Sir! 😀 Certainly glad I stumbled across this before the possibility of Dad “stumbling across” my wonderful Sutekh and *possibly* think I’m possessed by the devil, and then get my head checked… 😕… Real life saver, man.

    But still, thanks! I hope you have an execellent, happy un-birthday for Seth, and may he bless you endlessly!😊😁
    Btw I also love the chosen pictures behind him!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. G. B. Marian January 21, 2017 at 11:41 pm

    Great Seth, thank You for the fact that Brother Patrick, Sister Bean and I have been able to spend this weekend together. This little getaway is exactly what I’ve been needing. The days when the initiates of LV-426 can get together are few and far between these days, so an opportunity like this can’t be missed, and I am truly grateful to You that we were able to make this happen. Praise Typhon! Praise LV-426!

    Like

Leave a Reply

