In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Samhain 2015

I managed to keep all these candles lit for 12 straight hours, from 5:30 PM on October 31st to 4:30 AM the following morning. (I had some help from the ending of daylight saving time.) It was rough, because we had to add my mother-in-law, Saint Pamela Jean, to the altar that year; she had passed only two weeks prior. It was beautiful though, and we got to go on a cruise to Nassau for our anniversary the following week.

Our ancestor shrine, located in our kitchen.

My paternal grandparents (Peace be upon them).

My wife’s mother, with urn (Peace be upon her).

My wife’s paternal grandparents (Peace be upon them).

My wife’s maternal grandparents (Peace be upon them).

Our cat, Sneakers, who passed away in July 2014 (Peace be upon her).

Brother Patrick’s grandfather’s dogtag (Peace be upon him).

My maternal grandfather (Peace be upon him) and his lady friend (not deceased).

Our avatar of Stingy Jack for 2015.

Our shrine to our household Gods.

Papa Sutekh (Praise be unto Him).

Mama Ishtar (Praise be unto Her).

Thank You, Red Lord and Scarlet Woman, for bringing my wife and I together, for keeping us strong, and for giving us enough strength to face the darkness together. Thank you, our Blessed Dead, both named and nameless, who have made it possible for us to be born and to grow into adulthood together. Happy Halloween, and Merry Samhain.

Leave a Reply

