In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Ishtar Won’t Have It

Yup; that’s Ishtar, all right!*

Aside from that one year (and some change) of serving Her as a priest, my relationship with Ishtar has mostly been one of “Deity and layperson.” I love the Goddess very much, but She doesn’t ask for my attention too often. I should also mention that my relationship with Her is not quite as informal as it is with Seth. I can pretty much say or do anything with Big Red; after all, He’s the kind of God who laughs His proverbial hiney off whenever someone belches or farts in the middle of a prayer to Him (especially if it’s a really good one!). I’m always much more self-conscious around Ishtar, though; hanging out with Her reminds me of staying after class to meet with my extremely attractive college Theater teacher. Straight cisgender dudes often feel awkward around beautiful women who hold some kind of authority over them (not only because they find the women pretty, but also because they find them intimidating); I was no exception when it came to Mrs. A. all those years ago, and I’m certainly no exception when it comes to Lady Ishtar now.

Let me give you an example. There was one time when I could tell Ishtar was displeased with me, and that She expected me to rectify the situation. I knew She wasn’t exactly “angry”; if She had been, I’d probably be dead. It reminds me of when Mrs. A. used to scold me for doing something stupid while we were building sets for our stage shows (e.g., stepping on wet paint, cutting a piece of 3/4″ plywood too short, etc.). Nobody likes getting yelled at – or at least most people don’t – but for me at least, it’s always much worse when I’m getting yelled at by a woman whom I simultaneously respect, fear, and fantasize about. (That goes double for my wife!) I guess that’s just the way straight cisgender dudes are wired or something. But in any case, I said a quick prayer and told Ishtar I’d correct the problem…and then I had to stop myself and start over again, because I realized I was praying to Her the same way I pray to Seth. I was being loose and jocular, which is all well and good when I’m jawflappin’ with Big Red; but I could feel Ishtar giving me the exact same proverbial glare that almost killed Gilgamesh…and boy, that glare is scary.

______

*If anyone happens to know the name of the artist responsible for this painting, please shoot me a comment so I can give the person proper credit. Normally I wouldn’t include something like this without having the artist information handy, but I came across this on a random website, and it was far too awesome for me to pass up.

 

2 responses to “Ishtar Won’t Have It

  1. Ekunyi July 10, 2015 at 6:45 am

    I’ve really been enjoying reading through all of these and getting to learn more about your relationship with Ishtar. This post made me grin in particular: being a follower of Set can be damn near *hazardous* when it comes to suddenly finding yourself interacting with other gods! I’ve definitely also had those moments of, oh, right, swearing mid-conversation or trying to talk to that deity in the midst of an experimental metal show: not so appropriate with Bast or Heru-wer!

    ..somehow no One has smacked me too hard for it yet. ^^;

    I’m glad you’ve largely found a balance in what She needs versus what’s cool with Big Red.

    (Also, that painting is blowing my mind!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian July 14, 2015 at 2:50 pm

      Thanks! 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one who experiences this. I just keep forgetting that not all of the Gods are as…eh…”easygoing” about how we talk to Them.

      (And yeah, I totally love this painting!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

