In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Election Day 2016

From Pixabay.com

From Pixabay.com

My fellow Americans: it has begun.

Today, I will be exercising my Gods-given right to vote. So will you, in fact. Even if you refuse to vote in this election cycle, your inaction will speak. But I’d like to point out that if you deliberately choose not to vote, then you have no business complaining about the state of our country (as it is right now, or as it might be four years from now). Today, we fight a nonviolent battle for the soul and the future of our great nation. The decision we make together will effect everyone, including people who live on the opposite side of the planet. I’m not going to tell you how you should vote; but whatever you might choose to do, please do not make this decision lightly.

May the best candidate win.

2 responses to “Election Day 2016

  1. Erica Mary Eleanor November 8, 2016 at 9:52 am

    In our state all voting is done by mail in ballot. I turned mine in a week or two ago.

    I am so disappointed with our choices this year. This two party system is terrible.

    It has really opened my eyes to all the bullshit racism, sexism, etc that is still rampant in our country. I honestly don’t know what I will do if trump is elected. He is definitely not the best candidate, it would just show me that the stupid people in America outweighs the more informed. We would be a laughing stock to the rest of the world. This is a scary election! I hate how people argue that Clinton is a liar. What do you think trump is?! Or how he isn’t a professional politician like that is a good thing. Um, I don’t know about all you but I’d want a professional politician running our country. If I broke my leg I don’t go to a mechanic. If my car breaks down I don’t bring it to a bakery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 8, 2016 at 7:07 pm

      I’m not all that disappointed with our choices personally; I honestly think we’ll be OK under Clinton. Is she the best possible candidate ever? Hell, no; but then again, no one ever has been, and no one ever will be. I have also never wanted to vote for any Republican, so there isn’t much for me to be disappointed about as far as Trump goes (unless he wins, of course). But, I can understand the disappointment a lot of people feel. Many of us want to believe that we can all work together despite our differences, and while that has been reality up until now, it clearly isn’t reality anymore. My biggest concern is that we might see a significant rise in domestic terrorism if Clinton wins; but hopefully I’m wrong.

      It’s cool that your state lets you vote by mail. That would have made my day today a little easier, for sure! But never mind any negative thoughts right now. Thank you so much for voting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

