In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Ishtar, Seth, and the Question of Worship

I can’t seem to identify the artist who created this (any pointers would be appreciated), but I think it’s perfect for Ishtar.

Ishtar is the only Deity apart from Seth-Typhon to whom I’m devoted for the long haul. I’ve also had interactions with some other Divinities, but these were all very brief in comparison to my adventures with Big Red and the Scarlet Woman. I’ve been wanting to reach out to some other Goddesses as well, including Nephthys and Taweret; but I’m so dang Typhonocentric that even just finding time to include Ishtar in my spirituality can sometimes get dicey. I’m not willing to put anyone else before Ishtar but Seth, and I’m not willing to put anyone else before Seth at all; so I guess you can say I only have the time and the attention span for two Divinities at most. I just don’t think I can handle an entire posse of Them like some folks can!

That’s okay though; I feel like I’ve got everything I need (in terms of sheer Godpower) between the Lord of the Northern Sky and the Lady of the Morning Star. With Big Red, I’ve got a good male role model who shares all of my most important interests and who helps me and my family put the smackdown on evil. With Ishtar, I’ve got a good female role model who helps me with my marriage and who teaches me to be a better man. (It certainly doesn’t bruise my ego to know that the Hottest Chick in the Universe apparently knows my name and is willing to give me the time of day, either.)

Of course, it occurs to me that there are probably people reading this right now who don’t experience the same kind of divine companionship I’ve just described. Maybe you’ve been reaching out to one or more Deities, but to no avail; maybe you don’t feel like anything’s really happening in your rituals, or maybe you don’t feel like your offerings are being accepted. I’ve been there before, and it’s a lousy thing to experience. There’s not a whole lot that can be done about it, either. It could be that you’re reaching out to the wrong Deities, or that They’re testing you for some strange reason that we can’t possibly know. All I can say is that there are many different kinds of relationships we can have with Deities, and that not all of them have to be personal or devotional.

I know some folks will think I’m committing “blasphemy” by saying this, but spiritual paths that treat the Gods as archetypes are valid and you are allowed to explore them if you want to. Not everyone is meant to be a devotionalist, so if you feel like it might help you to explore ceremonial magic or Humanistic Paganism or something like that, give it a shot. Even if it’s not where you’re supposed to end up, it could be that exploring that kind of stuff will help point you in the right direction somehow. (On the other hand, maybe it is where you’re supposed to end up; and if so, who the hell am I to tell you otherwise?) Anyway, it’s just a suggestion; take from it what you will. But I think that a big part of the trouble, at least, is that people assume we must always have “Deity-and-worshiper” relationships with the Gods, and that’s just not true. Devotionalism is not necessarily the “highest” form of spirituality (I don’t believe any form is really “higher” than any other); nor is it necessarily the “right” form for everyone.

7 responses to “Ishtar, Seth, and the Question of Worship

  1. katakhanas August 6, 2015 at 5:43 pm

    Ugh, my abdomen is so bloated with the new ulcer management meds my doctor put me on, I’ve been telling coworkers I’m on “Taweret Time.” She’s another of those Deities that terrified the ancient Egyptians; Her hippo-lion combo shows She’s kin to Ammit, that’s for sure! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian August 6, 2015 at 7:47 pm

      I’m sorry to hear about your abdomen! 😦 Reminds me of the four or five colonoscopies I’ve had to have since I was 21. Gods, drinking that formula they give you gave me all kinds of…discomfort. So I empathize with you! I pray you’ll feel much better soon after you’ve had time to adjust to the meds. And from what I understand, Taweret IS pretty scary…but in a good way!

      Like

      • katakhanas August 7, 2015 at 12:51 pm

        Thank you; I appreciate your prayers! And there has been good fortune amidst the ickiness, Set be praised! As part of a team-building office thing, Daniel won travel vouchers from Southwest Airlines, good for anywhere in the country. The caveat is we have to fly by month’s end, so we very hastily planned a trip to Denver (where he’s originally from) for this weekend; we leave in a couple of hours: W00t! The change of scenery will do wonders for my body and spirits. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • G. B. Marian August 7, 2015 at 12:54 pm

        Goodness gracious! 🙂 Well enjoy your trip, and be safe!

        Like

  2. katakhanas August 7, 2015 at 1:07 pm

    Thank you! I’m hoping to hit up some occult/Pagan-owned and -run bookstores while we’re there. You KNOW I’m putting Isis Books, which sells Egyptian-made clothing on top of occult wares, high on my sightseeing agenda! (And I gotta pour a libation to my planetary ruler and Divine Patron of my career, Mercury, outside the Mercury Cafe! Huzzah!!) Should I see anything Set-related while I’m at any of these places, I’ll let you know! Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cythereancutie November 15, 2016 at 9:36 am

    I feel like those who have strict, hard polytheist views, who punish those who do not often miss the point of Divinity. The deities are inherently confusing and conflicting, to me they’re everything and nothing all at once. For example Aphrodite, my iridescent goddess. She can be an archetype and a new age goddess and an ancient goddess all at once. I don’t worship her as all of these guises, but they’re there. To some degree I almost wish I could see the world as simple as a pantheon, hard and nothing else. Would make understanding the world easier.

    Liked by 1 person

    • G. B. Marian November 20, 2016 at 2:38 pm

      I can identify. It’s natural for humans to find some way of “mapping” Divinity, so to speak, and that requires developing a structure of some kind. But there is no one structure that everyone on Earth is going to find useful all at once, and while some people like their theology pretty cut and dry, I don’t think any human belief system can ever be 100% certain. Theology is not a science, and the phenomena from which its data are taken are completely subjective personal experiences that can be explained in any number of ways. But for me at least, “certainty” isn’t really the point of this exercise; the real point is to explain impossible things to ourselves mythically, in ways that speak to the heart rather than the mind, and to try and participate in the cosmic order of things somehow. “Certainty” isn’t really necessary for this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

