In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Mail Call #1: Pretending To Know Better

On December 18, 2016 at 11:14 am, “Crimson Pond” wrote the following in response to my article, Aberamentho: Seth-Typhon, Yahweh, and Jesus Christ:

As a Sethian from quite a different cultural bakground I totally disagree with this conformism of yours. I’m afraid the Western civilization has made most of you unhealthy tolerant to what is going to feed on you. Actually what you call “the Backward Face” is “God”. Yes “God”. The universal inertia, which generates the collective destiny and the illusion of “God”, that which should be destroyed daily by the separated awareness.

That’s a very interesting theory. The thing is, I think you’re right to identify the Backward Face with “inertia”; but there is no Egyptian precedent for identifying it as “God.” That idea goes back no further than 1975; I have only ever seen it promoted by certain Temple of Set members (or by independent Satanists who take most of their inspiration from the Temple). In other words, this idea is the result of reinterpreting Egyptian theology to fit a Satanic revisionist perspective; it is not an actual Egyptian perspective. On the other hand, there’s plenty of evidence for the intersections between Seth, Yahweh and Christ that I explained in my article. I am not the first person to have highlighted this evidence either. Don Webb and Stephen Flowers (both of whom have been prominent Temple of Set members, I might add) have explored the idea in their own works as well. (See Webb’s The Seven Faces of Darkness: Practical Typhonian Magic and Flowers’ Hermetic Magic: The Postmodern Papyrus of Abaris.)

I don’t personally have a problem with anyone who chooses to interpret Egyptian theology in the way you have outlined above, but I do take issue when people expect me to accept this interpretation as “objective fact.” Also, I take issue with your accusation of “conformism” here; if anything, my position is antithetical to both the mainstream Christian and Satanist standpoints. The way I see it, Seth-Typhon is neither completely anti-Jesus nor anti-Satan, since there are ways in which He can intersect with both figures. Being that He is completely alien to the Abrahamic worldview, there is simply no way of inserting Him into the “God versus Satan” binary perfectly, and I think it’s wrong of both Christians and Satanists to try.

I have nothing to do with any Western occult body but I pretend to know better the practice of certain Western theories about the occult.

It’s clear that English isn’t your first language, so I’m sure you didn’t intend for this sentence to sound the way that it does. However, the way it is written is quite ironic.

Yes, there was a time I was on my way to immigrate to the West from the East European hell I was born in, but now I do appreciate where I have come into being. It taught me to hate what is really to be hated, and to love what is really to be loved.

I’m very glad you’ve come to terms with your life. I wish you nothing but the best in continuing to improve it.

It’s your right to claim whatever allegiance with Seth, and most of your writings are really intelligent and educational, but just bear in mind there are others who may actually pace the Path on the Left.

I’m not completely sure what this sentence is really meant to convey, but you seem to be intimating that I’m unaware of the Companions of Seth who walk the left-hand path. If you’ve been following my writings as you say you have, I’m not sure where you would have gotten that idea. I talk about left-hand path practitioners fairly often, and I happen to think I’m pretty fair toward them, even when I criticize some of their ideas.

Leave a Reply

